Social Media Tips: How to Manage Privacy and Settings in LinkedIn

LinkedIn gives you the ability to hide your connections from other people. This is appropriate if you don’t want people you are connected with to see who else you are connected with. Sometimes people choose to make their connections private because they want to keep their business relationships private, or maybe they are getting too many requests to be introduced to someone, and they just want to make their connections private. Whatever the reason, if you want to change who can see your connections, follow these steps.

  1. On LinkedIn, move your pointer to the upper right corner of the website where your small picture is and a drop down menu will appear with Account, Job Posting, Advertising, etc.
  2. Move your pointer over the Privacy & Settings option and click.
  3. Once you are at this screen, move down into the rectangular area near the bottom with the tabs Profile, Communications etc. Keep the tab Profile selected.
  4. From this tab you can see the heading Privacy Controls. Select who can see your connections is the 4th link in the list. Click it and it brings up a dialogue box.
  5. From the drop down menu you can select Only you or Your connections. Select Only you.
  6. Click save changes. The dialogue box will disappear and a note should appear with a green check mark that you have successfully updated your browse connections settings.

Remember, you can change these settings at any time if you change your mind. Additionally feel free to try adjusting the other settings in Privacy Controls. You have the ability to select who can see your activity feed, change your profile photo and visibility, etc. That should help you get a feel for LinkedIn’s privacy controls. Good luck!

Advertisements